Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can you run 1 bedroom (6 outlets, 1 fan, 1 light) all on same 15amp circuit?

Can you run 1 bedroom (6 outlets, 1 fan, 1 light) all on same 15amp circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-04-12, 12:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Can you run 1 bedroom (6 outlets, 1 fan, 1 light) all on same 15amp circuit?

I always run a separate circuit for each room, and almost always do bedrooms with 14 gauge on a 15 amp circuit.

My question is this: I heard recently that if I'm running both the outlets and the switch to a fan/light on the same wire I have to use 12 gauge to meet code in Utah...can anyone verify this?

With energy star bulbs and fan, even if you're running a vac at the same time this doesn't seem necessary according to my math, but I want to make sure I don't fail any inspections.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-04-12, 04:01 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You CAN, but it normally isn't done. Usually lighting is separated from receptacle loads. Run 12 gauge wires to your receptacles, and protect them with a 20 amp breaker, and the lighting can run off 14 gauge and a 15 amp breaker. As always, check with your local authority, since you have a question about locality which we can't answer.
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-12, 10:55 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,981
As far as the NEC is concerned, there is nothing requiring running #12 in bedrooms in any way, the circuit only needs to be sized to handle the load to be served. As Chandler mentioned, your local code may require this, but I have never heard of this anyplace in the US.

They do likely (depending on your code cycle) need to be protected by AFCI breakers, have tamper resistant receptacles, and a 3 wire cable (black, red, white, ground) from the switch box to the fan box.

IMO - I would rather run two 15 amp circuits then one 20 amp circuit. In your case, one circuit is likely enough, but I also like to split the lights and receptacles so you will not be left in the dark if the circuit goes.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'