How many NM cables in one box hole.

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-12, 06:08 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hennepin County, MN, USA
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many NM cables in one box hole.

In MN I am using one gang metal boxes in ICF wall. The boxes have one knock-out on top. Can I have two cables come out through one gromet?

If I anchor the cables within 6 inches, do I need to have "holding" grommets?
 
  #2  
Old 08-10-12, 08:23 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,932
Received 289 Votes on 252 Posts
IF you are using steel boxes you are required to use a bushing or connector. I recommend using button connectors like this: NM94 | Product Information They will accept up to 2 - 12/2 or 14/2 cables. I know Menards and Home Depot both carry versions of them.

If you are using handy boxes or a single wall case I would be careful. They do not have a very large cubic inch capacity. Many cases they only have enough room for one cable and one device. IF your using steel boxes, I recommend 4" square boxes with mudrings the depth of your sheetrock. That or use deep wall cases (the ones with ears)
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-12, 10:16 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hennepin County, MN, USA
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am using the NM 94 grommets with 16.5 cu boxes in the ICF walls. I will be installing a thin synthetic stucco coating to the ICF walls, so no mud ring.
 
  #4  
Old 08-13-12, 10:32 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,245
Received 110 Votes on 96 Posts
You would be better off to use deeper boxes. With two cables you have 5 conductors plus 2 for the device. This gives you 7*2= 14 cu inches minimum on a 15 amp circuit. You would have 15.75 if using #12.

A 3 1/2" deep metal box is 18 cubic inches.
 
  #5  
Old 08-13-12, 10:43 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hennepin County, MN, USA
Posts: 131
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can't use deeper boxes, the eps foam is 2.5" thick. If I was using drywall I could use a mud ring to add .5 inches, but I am not. I am using 12 guage, I have done a bunch, tight, but doable.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: