hot tub

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-17-12, 01:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 56
hot tub

I need some help in wiring a used hot tub.It has a14/3 rubber cord coming from the control box with a 20 amp non twist lock cap at the end.Not really sure what is required other than starting with a double pole gfci breaker at the panel
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-17-12, 01:20 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,507
Not my area of expertise but 14-3 wire cannot be used on a 20 amp circuit, you need 12 ga wire for that.
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-12, 01:55 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,091
You gave almost no information about the spa so anything is just guessing at this point. I would first figure out what the spa needs. Confirm that it is 120 or 240 volts. Some brands of spas had entire product lines designed specifically for 120 volt so don't assume that it's 240. Next find out how much current it draws. Just because someone in the past stuck a #14 cord on there doesn't mean it's right or imply it's current draw.
 
  #4  
Old 08-17-12, 02:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
Also some spas can be rigged to run on lower amperage but that is less then ideal because the heater doesn't run when the pump is on. If your wiring a new receptacle for it best is to set the tub up for the higher amperage and install an appropriately sized receptacle for it.
 
  #5  
Old 08-17-12, 07:01 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I need some help in wiring a used hot tub.
What make and model is the hot tub?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'