Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Newbie here: Installing IP camera outside, don't know hw to fix power supply

Newbie here: Installing IP camera outside, don't know hw to fix power supply

Old 08-30-12, 05:25 PM
Exclamation Newbie here: Installing IP camera outside, don't know hw to fix power supply

Hey all,
I'm kinda knowledgeable in the internet category but have no clue when it comes to connecting electrical utilities in the absence of available electric outlets. I'm currently installing 4 IP surveillance cameras at the perimeters of my home (my neighbours got robbed, the intruders apparently just kicked opened the door and took everything remotely valuable) but has just realized that I have no way of connecting the cameras to power supplies. I've included a picture of the camera in attachments. It uses a 5v power supply and needs to be basically connected into building and plugged into a outlet. The problem is the cameras are to be directly mounted into the walls at the exterior of the building and I have no clue how I should acomplis this task. Should I just make a hole, connect the supply into the house and plug it into an outlet or is there some less damaging way of connecting? Please be patient with me as I have no experience in more advanced handyman tasks . I have access to a wide range of tools so that shouldn't be a problem. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 08-30-12, 05:34 PM
Group Moderator
Is the power connector on the power brick by any chance a USB connector? What do the instructions say. Is it intended for outdoor mounting. The plug at the bottom of the picture is cut off. Can you post a picture with that plug.

Old 08-30-12, 05:58 PM