NEED HELP Troubleshooting 110v Air Conditioner!

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-02-12, 08:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
NEED HELP Troubleshooting 110v Air Conditioner!

I've got a 110v air conditioner that works fine and blows cold air but the plug keeps getting hot, hot enough to unplug it! If the hot and neutral were reversed could that make the plug get hot and the wire run is quite far so could the distance make it get hot? It's almost unbearable here in Phx without AC so any help is much appreciated! :helpme 2:

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-02-12, 08:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
If the hot and neutral were reversed could that make the plug get hot
No.
the wire run is quite far so could the distance make it get hot?
We need more details to answer that. Do you mean the cable supplying the receptacle or the cord on the AC? You aren't using an extension cord are you? How tightly does the plug fit in the receptacle? Does it feel loose?

P.S Your house has 120 not 110 so the AC is 120.
 
  #3  
Old 09-02-12, 09:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
Yes, it's an extension cord! It fits in the outlet fine but it seems like the plug starts getting hot pretty quick and slowly moves up the cord!
 
  #4  
Old 09-02-12, 10:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
Yes, it's an extension cord!
And we have a winner! You have identified your problem. It is best to never run an AC on an extension cord and in general it should be #14 and less then 6 feet. Most extension cords are smaller gage and longer then that. You need to install a dedicated circuit for your AC. We can help you do that.
 
  #5  
Old 09-03-12, 07:39 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
It fits in the outlet fine but it seems like the plug starts getting hot pretty quick and slowly moves up the cord!
IMO, the #1 problem is as ray has suggested, the extension cord. The #2 issue I see is the receptacle, you must have a tight connection or the receptacle/plug will heat up with the load of an a-c unit.
 
  #6  
Old 09-03-12, 09:58 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The #3 problem may be that the unit needs a thorough cleaning. Dirty coils can cause a windoe A/C to draw much more than its standard load.
 
  #7  
Old 09-03-12, 10:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,350
Many extension cords are too small for many loads and will cause voltage drop and cause the units to have to work harder. Loose the cord.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'