Asbestos?

Old 09-04-12, 10:09 PM
Asbestos?

Hi I am staying in a hotel built in 2004 in NYC. There is an LG flat screen mounted to the wall with some cable wires underneath it. There was a lot of thick dust on the wires and I am wondering if it could be asbestos because it looked different to me. Please look at the picture and let me know.

Thanks

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 09-04-12, 10:40 PM
I am by no means an expert but I would say it looks like common house dust however dust is not good to breath in so I would stay away from it. According to sources that I read on the internet asbestos hasn't been used in this country for anything in a very long time as far as construction is concerned. There are still mines believe it or not around the world and things are still being made with asbestos but nothing that goes into this country at least from what I read. Here is the link to the Wikipedia article Asbestos - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. I Hope this helps you and welcome to the forum.

Old 09-05-12, 01:53 AM
That looks like nicotine-tinted dust. Asbestos hasn't been used in building materials since the 1970s.

Old 09-05-12, 05:11 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
..... and I'm not sure you can identify asbestos just by looking at the dust. Looks like the hotel could use better maids - or adjust their schedule so they can spend the time to do a better job.

Old 09-05-12, 09:53 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
If the hotel was built from the ground up in 2004, there's absolutely no chance whatsoever of asbestos being present. If it was an older (early 1900's) building that was RENOVATED into a hotel in 2004, then yes it would be possible for it to be present, but highly unlikely considering the building wouldve been required to undergo abatement during the renovation. Asbestos fibers look like tiny needles. They don't curl like that. That's dust. If that's the way they maintain the hotel I'd be more concerned about bedbugs.

Old 09-05-12, 10:00 AM