Running Wire and Code?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-06-12, 03:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Running Wire and Code?

Can anyone tell me what the codes are for running wire in the basement? For instance do I have to run wire through the framing rather than attaching it to the back of the framing? I have alot of space between the foundation wall and my framing that it might be easier to wire on the back rather than drilling.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-06-12, 04:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,674
The wire needs to be supported. How would you do that?
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-12, 05:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 15
stapling to the back of framing.
 
  #4  
Old 09-06-12, 06:17 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,991
I would rather drill holes and pull the cable through, rather then trying to hammer staples on the back side of a stud, but your method is code compliant. Code requires NM cable to be supported at least every 4 1/2 feet and within 12" of a box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'