Installing new outlets, rearranging breakers

Old 09-07-12, 07:46 AM
Installing new outlets, rearranging breakers

First - I'm located in Howard County, Maryland, USA. My goal here is to add a few outlets in my garage. The first is going to be a 240v outlet for a hot water heating element to brew beer with. I'd also like to add a 20A line for some additional 120v outlets, probably 2 pair. I've read a bit about residential wiring basics and have done a few light fixtures so I'm an electrical novice. I currently have one spot open in my breaker box but I think it's possible to rearrange some of the existing breakers to make room for what I need. Links to pictures of my breakers and the panel diagram are below. I would've included them in the post but they had to be large files to make the small text readable.

My current plan for wire runs
1) Run 30A, 10 gauge, 3 wire + ground for the hot water heating element. The neutral isn't needed so I'll just cap it on both ends with a wire nut and tuck it away. My thinking is that if I ever want this wire to be able to supply 120v, I've got a neutral available.
2) Run 20A, 12 gauge, 2 wire + ground for the other outlets

My current plan for rearranging breakers (Per the diagram, the bottom 5 slots on both sides can take tandem breakers)
1) Remove the 15A breaker labeled "Family Lighting + Receptacle" and install a 15A tandem breaker.
2) Remove the bottom 15A breaker labeled "Addition (Bump Out) Lighting" and move up the wires to the open slot on the tandem 15A breaker installed in step 1. This will free up the bottom slot on the left, where I'll install a tandem 20A breaker and use one side of it for the 120v receptacles that I've run wire for in the garage, leaving the other half unused.
3) Remove the 15A breaker labeled "Master Bedroom" and replace it with a tandem 15A breaker
4) Move the 15A wiring labeled "Bedrooms 2 & 3" down to the open slot on the tandem 15A breaker installed in step 3.