Installing Receptacle Boxes

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-12, 04:45 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing Receptacle Boxes

I'm in the process of installing electrical boxes and was wondering how you know where to set the box for sheetrock thats 5/8 rather than 1/2"? The boxes that I got have a marking for 1/2" only. Is it ok to set to that mark or will the boxes be too recessed? This is new construction BTW.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-10-12, 05:56 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,301
Received 133 Votes on 117 Posts
Boxes can only be 1/4" back from non-combustible material. Just use a tape measure or a scrap piece of wood/drywall to set your boxes at the proper depth.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 09-11-12 at 05:00 PM. Reason: technical
  #3  
Old 09-10-12, 08:27 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're allowed 1/4", not 1/8" (5/8 is 1/8 bigger than 1/2 anyway).. So technically he'd be fine setting them at 1/2" as long as the holes were cut neatly so the device yokes are supported by the sheetrock...
 
  #4  
Old 09-11-12, 05:02 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,082
Received 63 Votes on 55 Posts
I use the scrap material to space the boxes. There may also be a thin line already on the box for both 3/8" and 5/8" rock.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: