Mounting generator transfer switch

Old 09-16-12, 01:33 PM
Mounting generator transfer switch

I have a 7 Kw generator so my transfer switch can only power limited circuits. My existing breaker box has all the wires entering on the top. So my plan was to mount the 8 circuit transfer switch above the existing breaker box so I could just pull the wire for each existing circuit and move it to the transfer switch box. But that would put the transfer witch box higher than you can reach standing on the floor. Someone suggested code for a switch or breaker used as a switch can not be above 6' 7". But these are breakers not used as switches.

So is it code?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-16-12, 08:24 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
I'm far from a code expert, but I would say that it's not to code. At the very least, it'll be inconvenient if/when a breaker does trip.

I would mount the transfer switch to the left or right of the panel, connected with either a short PVC nipple or Greenfield. Then simply splice the 8 circuits and extend them to the transfer switch. Of course, be sure to use the same size (or larger) wire when you splice. An extra 8 splices in your panel should be fine... unless you have a really old small panel.

Old 09-16-12, 09:12 PM
my plan was to mount the 8 circuit transfer switch [panel] above the existing breaker box so I could just pull the wire for each existing circuit and move it to the transfer switch box. But that would put the transfer switch box higher than you can reach standing on the floor. Someone suggested code for a switch or breaker used as a switch can not be above 6' 7". But these are breakers not used as switches.

So is it code?