Does My Panel Allow Tandem Breakers?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-20-12, 09:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Does My Panel Allow Tandem Breakers?

Right now my main circuit breaker panel is full. I haven't spoken with a electrician yet, but what I was planning on doing was making room in the main breaker panel by installing tandem breakers. Then installing a 50A 240v double pole breaker and wiring that to a 60A 240v GFI spa panel.

Last night I finally was able to find the model number of my circuit breaker panel and did some research. Inside it said it was a "QQ Load Center Cat No. Q030M150 Series G1 Box Cat No. Q0B30M150 Main Lugs Only".

I did a search for QQ Load Center which brought me to Schneider Electric is the global specialist in Energy Management - Schneider Electric United States. I then did a search on their site for Q030M150 which didn't return any results, but they asked if I meant " qo130m150", so I clicked on the PDF and found that it says that the Max Number of Tandem Circuit Breakers 0, but I'm not sure if this is the correct documentation for my panel.

Here is a picture of the panel and the wiring diagram inside the panel, and as you can see there are already 6 tandem breakers installed.

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-20-12, 09:17 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
You are not allowed tandem breakers in that panel. The ones that are there now should be removed and replaced with the proper single pole breakers. It looks like your have 34 poles of breakers in a panel listed for 30.

Besides tha part number you can verify that no tandems are allowed by looking under the text on the label that says Diagram Symbol.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-12, 09:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2
That's what I was afraid of, looks like I need to get a sub panel and call an electrician. Thanks for the reply.
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-12, 12:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 243
SQD. makes two different single pole space savers....a QO2020 and QO2020T.....The 2020T is designed to fit in panels they have listed as being able to use space saver breakers, and will fit in only the spaces designated for this purpose. the QO2020 is an old style space saver that fist in most panels but is illegal to use to add spaces. They are sold for "replacement purposes only"...meaning if you had an old panel with them already in it you could buy a replacement one, but they are not for new installation. I would not just replace them unless you needed more space anyway, which you do so yes, a sub panel is the better option.
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-12, 07:32 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,397
They are sold for "replacement purposes only"...meaning if you had an old panel with them already in it you could buy a replacement one
Those would be Non-CTL breakers, non circuit total limiting. CTL breakers, circuit total limiting, are for use in panels designed for tandem breakers to be installed. Non-CTL breakers will fit any modern panel from that manufacturer, but are not allowed if the panel was not designed for tandems.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes