Help with switch and fan

Old 09-20-12, 11:35 AM
Help with switch and fan

I am a complete newbie to electrical. I switched all outlets and switches with new ones. Was an easy job, except for one. There is a fan in the living room that worked off of a switch, when I changed it (switch), it worked fine. Now it does not even respond to the switch, it is always on. So to try to trouble shoot I changed the switch, nothing, same thing. Disconnected the two wires from the switch touched them and then separated them, nothing, same thing. The fan and lights stay on as if they are not even connected to that outlet. What could I have done wrong? I am stumped

Sponsored Links
Old 09-20-12, 11:56 AM
There is a fan in the living room that worked off of a switch, when I changed it (switch), it worked fine. Now it does not even respond to the switch, it is always on. So to try to trouble shoot I changed the switch, nothing, same thing. Disconnected the two wires from the switch touched them and then separated them, nothing, same thing. The fan and lights stay on as if they are not even connected to that outlet. What could I have done wrong? I am stumped
That is a stumper!

Just for clarity, you only changed out switches and receptacles, right? You didn't do anything, and haven't done anything, to the wiring above the fan?

Also, when you upgraded the devices, you just swapped wire-for-wire on identical devices? The switch you installed here is the same kind of switch as the one you replaced?

Just one more question: Is the switch for the fan in a box by itself, or does it share a box with some other switches.

That the same thing happens when you just touch the two switch wires together means that the switch was probably OK. That makes sense anyway - this sounds like a problem in the wiring. Hang in there, we can help you fix this. It sounds like it may take a bit of troubleshooting, though.

Old 09-20-12, 11:58 AM
Group Moderator