Outlet Problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-21-12, 11:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Outlet Problem

Looks like I have another problem to add to the first one (http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...witch-fan.html). Yesterday switched out a outlet for a new one. Everything worked fine until this morning, plugged something in and nothing. Looked at everything and all screws are tight thought I may have switched the wire around so changed the black wires around, nothing, put them back like they where, nothing. Tried another outlet, nothing, switched the wires around like the first time, nothing. I have 4 wires in total, one white and one black coming form one side of the box, and the same thing on the other side of the box. Originally each black wire went with the opposing white on the receptacle (I think). I have no idea what is wrong, any ideas? Maybe I put the wires on wrong? Maybe wrong combination?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-21-12, 12:58 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,673
If this is not a GFCI receptacle it doesn't matter which brass screw each black wire goes on and it doesn't matter which silver screw each white wire goes on. Did you use the screws not the back stabs? did you leave the tabs between the screws in place? Have you checked with a multimeter or test light but not a non contact tester to see if one of the cables is hot?
 
  #3  
Old 09-21-12, 03:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
This is what it looks like and it is in the restroom, no GFCI. The tabs are not broken, Ray
 
Attached Images     
  #4  
Old 09-21-12, 03:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,673
You need to disconnect the cables and verify one cable is hot as previously suggested.
 
  #5  
Old 09-21-12, 04:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Thanks, Ray. I will do that.
 
  #6  
Old 09-21-12, 05:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,363
When you reconnect the wires make sure the loops are clockwise.
 
  #7  
Old 09-21-12, 07:30 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
This is what it looks like and it is in the restroom, no GFCI.
This receptacle appears to be in a bathroom, or restroom, from what you said and from looking at the pictures. If so, and the circuit feeding it is not GFCI protected upstream, then you need to install a GFCI receptacle here. If it is GFCI protected upstream, then you need to check to see whether you lost power because that GFCI device tripped.

If you need to supply the GFCI protection here, and you aren't clear about how to connect it, post back. We can help you with that.
 
  #8  
Old 09-22-12, 05:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
(The loops being clockwise) Can you explain this a little more, sorry newbie.
 
  #9  
Old 09-22-12, 05:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,673
Clockwise is the direction the screws turn when you tighten them so it tends to tighten the loop. Makes a better connection.
 
  #10  
Old 09-22-12, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 176
Thanks for the post and being so helpful, I will try it out
 
  #11  
Old 09-23-12, 03:27 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Is this receptacle in a bathroom? If so, does it have GFCI protection from a breaker or device upstream?

Note: Wires are not connected to a GFCI receptacle by curling and crimping them around the screws. They are inserted into the back-clamp slots and the screws are tightened to close the clamps. In addition, the wires from each cable must be connected to the appropriate pair of terminals, either LINE or LOAD.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'