Thermostat wire underground in conduit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-02-12, 02:36 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thermostat wire underground in conduit?

Can I run 18/6 thermostat wire underground in conduit, or do I have to pull 6 individual THWN wires? I would like to use these as the control wires for my standby generator. Thanks, John
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-12, 06:11 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,338
Received 115 Votes on 106 Posts
Most likely the thermostat wire is not marked with a "W" marking indicating that it's water resistant.

You may want to consider using underground sprinkler wire. It'll be rated appropriately and will be the same gauge.
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-12, 07:49 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Can I run 18/6 thermostat wire underground in conduit
No

do I have to pull 6 individual THWN wires?
Yes

I would like to use these as the control wires for my standby generator.
And the last thing you want, I'm guessing, is for the signals in that control wiring to fail.
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-12, 01:58 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help, John
 
  #5  
Old 10-03-12, 05:41 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,656
Received 86 Votes on 76 Posts
I think I'd use #16 THHN/THWN. It comes in all the colors the larger sizes come in, but you may not find it at a big box. Red is the most common for controls that I am aware of.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: