Planning electrical upgrades to new home purchase

Old 10-04-12, 10:54 AM
Planning electrical upgrades to new home purchase

Hi all, new forum member here. Thanks in advance for your replies! My wife and I just bought our first home, a 1955 house in Contra Costa County, California with a Federal Pacific panel and 2-wire cable without ground. It has an old fuse subpanel in a closet (definitely not to current code) and a second subpanel for an addition done by the previous owners. We want to replace the main panel and the fuse subpanel and to upgrade the place for arc fault and ground fault protection where reasonable. We had an electrical contractor out who made some recommendations, but he was sort of an "I'll bill you the bottom line and you let me handle it" guy, and I really want to know what's going on and perhaps get my hands dirty where it's safe to do so. His recommendations also seemed a little over the top, which is why I'm coming here. I am a research chemist by trade, so I don't have much experience with electrical work (beyond wiring up temperature controllers, etc), but I'd love to learn. I have some questions to get myself calibrated, and I'll be very grateful for any responses!

1. The electrical contractor said we'll have to rewire any circuits we want to have AFCI on. I don't know how the house is wired, but is it a guarantee that 2-wire will have a shared neutral? Or is there some other issue he was worried about?
2. Should we rewire the house for safety reasons anyway, independent of the AFCI issue?
3. He recommended we pull a permit to increase the 100 A main panel to 200 A. The house is 3-4 BR (depending on how you count) with forced air heating, no AC, electrical dryer and stove (on 240 V), and no other major appliances. I feel like with some planning we would be fine on 100 A. Am I fooling myself?