Yet Another Subpanel Thread

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-12, 06:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 146
Yet Another Subpanel Thread

I'm converting garage space into workshop space. I want to add a 100A subpanel in the workshop.

The existing 200A main panel is in the same detached garage as the workshop-to-be; the subpanel will be ~25' away from the main panel on the same wall. The wiring will run through residential attic space.

From my research, it appears that my choices are #3THHN/THWN with either a #8 copper or #6 aluminum ground in 1-1/4 inch PVC conduit, or I could use #2/3 Romex without ground.

Is my research correct?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-12, 06:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
A 100 amp subpanel does not have to be fed with a 100 amp feed. Usually a 60 amp feed is enough for a workshop. What loads will be in the workshop?
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-12, 09:22 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
or I could use #2/3 Romex without ground.
No matter which way you do it (PVC conduit or NM B cable) or how many amps you feed it with, the subpanel must have an appropriately sized grounding conductor.
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-12, 08:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 146
Ray, I tend to do the whole overkill thing. Loads will include a separate air conditioning system (the primary reason for the workshop conversion), standard garage power tools, a welder, a 20A laser cutter, occasionally an oven (not for food), a computer, and who knows what else.

Joe, something went wrong between my brain and my fingers when I started this thread... I will absolutely run a ground separate from the neutral between the main panel and the subpanel. I had intended to say "#2/3 Romex without CONDUIT."

Hopefully that makes this thread make more sense. So... am I correct that I can either use THHN in conduit or 2/3 Romex without conduit?
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-12, 08:51 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
I doubt that you will find NM that large. Type SER cable will be available in the larger sizes.
 
  #6  
Old 12-02-12, 09:26 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
You can get 2/3 w/g NM-b at a supply house. You will not find it at the big box.

At big orange you can get 2-2-2-4 SER AL for about $1.50 a foot. You would be limited to 80 amps but that would likely plenty for your shop.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes