mount switch inside a steel stud?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-12, 07:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
mount switch inside a steel stud?

Hi All, This is my first post and I'm looking for advice on an electrical switch. I would like to remove a small wall that currently has a switch on it. I can't put the switch on the adjoining wall face, but I was thinking it could go at the very edge of the wall inside the steel stud with a small electrical box. Is there any reason/regulation not to do this?

thank you for any help you can give
-Mark
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-12, 08:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
You didn't mention what type of wire you have so I'm going to assume it's NM-B.....plastic cable. You can mount an electrical box on a metal stud. They make boxes just for that purpose. Some snap on and some use self tapping screws. One important issue....if you are using NM-B then you must use some type of plastic grommet where the wire passes thru any metal stud. They are available at home improvement centers and usually the same places where they sell electrical devices.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 10-09-12 at 04:36 PM. Reason: corrections
  #3  
Old 10-08-12, 06:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,276
Switch

inside the steel stud
Will the stud be cut to make room for the box? If so, what about the structural integrity of the stud?
 
  #4  
Old 10-08-12, 01:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Thank you for the replies!

It's bx cable, the metal armored stuff.

Just to clear things up, I want it inside the stud not mounted to the stud. All/most of my boxes are mounted to studs.

I will need to cut a whole, but the are lots of wholes in steel studs, so I'm not worried about that. It shouldn't weaken it substantially, I don't think
 
  #5  
Old 10-08-12, 01:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
geometry

I have not described this well, but the switch would be on the edge of a long wall, so the box will slide into the long face of the stud, the face that metal studs already have holes. This is 90 degrees from the standard orientation relative to studs. I'll make a drawing and post
 
  #6  
Old 10-08-12, 01:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
drawing

here is a crude drawing with nothing to scale:

Name:  switch.jpg
Views: 424
Size:  11.7 KB
 
  #7  
Old 10-08-12, 10:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
So you want to install the box in the end of a wall. I'm guessing there is sheet rock on that little piece of wall. There should not be an issues installing a cut-in metal gem there.
 
  #8  
Old 10-09-12, 04:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
thanks, glad to hear it. "metal jem" is that trade term for an electrical box?
 
  #9  
Old 10-09-12, 07:46 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
Gem box, home electrical hardware.

I think depth is listed in this link.... they do come in multiple depths.
 
  #10  
Old 10-09-12, 08:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Great!
Would it be permissible to install an outlet in this same wall end configuration? Its not the same wall end, btw.
 
  #11  
Old 10-09-12, 08:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
I don't think there is anything in the code about that exact location but there may be an issue having a cord or plug hanging out of the end of a wall. Could become a trip hazard.
 
  #12  
Old 10-09-12, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
good point, but in this case it's not a problem. I may be removing the sheet rock behind my fridge up to about 70 inches, so I was thinking I could mount the outlet that is behind there facing down from the top of that recess, which be behind the upper cabinets.
 
  #13  
Old 10-09-12, 11:26 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I was thinking I could mount the outlet that is behind there facing down from the top of that recess,
You could, but how would you guard against the plug coming loose? And JOC, does the cord for your fridge have a right-angle plug on the end?
 
  #14  
Old 10-09-12, 11:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 13
I was thinking it would just stay in due to friction. The current on is pretty tight. It does have a right angle, but the one we are looking at does not, but I would make enough room for it either way.
 
  #15  
Old 10-09-12, 12:06 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I was thinking it would just stay in due to friction.
It may. Be a bit of a PITA if it came loose though.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'