DC Voltage UPS for modem and router

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-09-12, 08:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 7
Question DC Voltage UPS for modem and router

Hi all, this is my first post so I apologyse in advance in case I am doing something wrong.

Here is the issue.

I live in a country where imports are very restricted and finding some products can very very hard. I need a UPS for my router and modem so when the power is cut almos every weekend I can still use my laptop.

Both modem and router use 5V 1amp DC adapter, the only DC UPS I can find is the GreeNet | Responsible Energy which is 12V UPS.

My project is to get a car voltage converter (12V to 5V) and make it work by using a splitter to power both devices.

I am all ears to your opinions. Thanks a lot for taking a time.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-09-12, 10:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,168
I've been thinking about your problem. If you use a 5 volt back-up supply/convertor then you'll need to cut off the 5 volt A/C adaptor boxes It might be easier and less expensive for you to just get a small 110 volt ups supply and just plug your exisiting adaptors into it.
 
  #3  
Old 10-09-12, 10:58 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

I live in a country where imports are very restricted and finding some products can very very hard.
Some additional information will help us refine our answers. What country do you live in? What is the power supply in a receptacle in your house - 120V, 240V, or something else?

Are the power cables for your modem and router made to plug into a receptacle and convert the power supply to 5VDC, or are they made to plug into USB receptacles that already supply the 5VDC?
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-12, 12:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 7
Hi, thanks for the quick reply.

I live in Venezuela, forumwise is 110v. I plug router and modem to a different adapter each, input is 110v and output is 5v 1amp. No usb. regular 5v plug.

And the UPS already comes with the same plug, I just need an easy find piece that plugs into one and give and aditional 2 plugs
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-12, 12:47 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I live in Venezuela, forumwise is 110v.
The power supply in Venezuela is 120V, 60Hz, the same as in the U.S., so anything sold for this market should work where you are.

I plug router and modem to a different adapter each, input is 110v and output is 5v 1amp. No usb. regular 5v plug.
What does that look like? Especially the "regular 5v plug." Some pictures would help us see what you have now. See How To Put Pictures In Your Post.
 
  #6  
Old 10-09-12, 01:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 7
Yep, the same as USA (thank God). Here is a pic of the spider cable I would use
http://img1.mlstatic.com/cable-arana...476_092012.jpg
 
  #7  
Old 10-09-12, 01:04 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
That looks like you've answered your question. Have you?
 
  #8  
Old 10-09-12, 01:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 7
Nap, I cannot found a 5volt UPS in Venezuela, the only one is a 9Volt UPS. So I would need adapt a car converter from 12V to 5V and the use the splitter for the 2 devices. Do you think it will work?
 
  #9  
Old 10-09-12, 01:55 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,051
I see some possible confusion here. Most car converters are 12 volts so a a 12 volt UPS would perhaps be a better choice. The Car converters I am thinking of are DC to DC converters with taps for different voltages.
 
  #10  
Old 10-09-12, 02:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 7
Yep that is one I will use. But a 12v to 5v. The UPS is 9v 2amp, I have to power 5v 1amp (2 devices). Do you think it will work?. Doing all the wiring needed of course.Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 10-09-12, 02:22 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
How do you charge your devices when the power is on? Don't their adapters plug into the wall? If so, then why not do what PJmax suggested earlier?

Originally Posted by PJmax
It might be easier and less expensive for you to just get a small 110 volt ups supply and just plug your exisiting adaptors into it.
 
  #12  
Old 10-09-12, 02:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 7
Thats my 2nd choice, here a regular UPS costs double a DC UPS, and the running time is 1hour top, but with the DC UPS is a 3 hours minimum...thanks
 
  #13  
Old 10-09-12, 03:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,051
Or make your on "UPS" using a bank of multiple marine batteries and an inverter.
 
  #14  
Old 10-09-12, 04:47 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
If you really want to stick with a straight-DC UPS and you need 5VDC output, why not get the EU 7.5 /5-24 from the same company you linked to?

I think you're comparing apples to oranges on the run time, since that depends on the attached load. I would get a 120V UPS in a heartbeat, 'cause I can plug anything and everything into that. But, your call. And, as noted on that site, a DC UPS doesn't need to have an inverter, and expend energy on that.
 
  #15  
Old 10-09-12, 07:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,168
That website is a little confusing but it looks like the 7.5/5 24 is only rated for 1 amp of output.
 
  #16  
Old 10-09-12, 09:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 7
Hi again, thanks for your alternatives.

A few hours ago I received an email from a sales rep from CDP, and the are not actually selling 5v to my country (no surprise).

About the load, I read and the max running time is 1 hour because you have to make the AC to DC conversion and that waste a lot of power, that does not happen with the DC to DC.

My question still is, will I be able to power 2 5volt 1 amp devices with a 9volt 2amp UPS and using a cheap car cell charger that takes 12volt and turns it into 5v?

Thanks..
 
  #17  
Old 10-09-12, 11:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,168
My question still is, will I be able to power 2 5volt 1 amp devices with a 9volt 2amp UPS and using a cheap car cell charger that takes 12volt and turns it into 5v?
How can you take a 12v car cell phone charger, run it on 9v and get 5v from it ? I'm not sure how well regulated the 5v supply needs to be for the modem and router. The wall cubes that come with them are highly regulated. My answer to your question would be no.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes