Relaced 8 amp fuse_is this the right one?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-11-12, 10:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Question Relaced 8 amp fuse_is this the right one?

House built in 1940 (just bought it) and has been rewired to circut breakers. However, the washing machine is plugged into it's own receptical (plugged into the bottom half). Top half has a single fuse "box" that was holding a screw-in 8s type fuse. I replaced it ($15-SHEESH) with identical fuse and got the machine working again. This receptical appears to be directly wired to the breaker box as well????

But when I took a flashlight and looked into the fuse plug, it says 30A. Is this what tells me the TRUE amp size that should be in there? How would I know if the previous owner put the correct fuse in?

Any help appreciated!
Shannon
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-11-12, 10:54 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
A receptacle for the washer cannot be protected by a 30 amp fuse or breaker. Doing so can create a fire hazard especially if the wiring is not properly sized.

Depending on the size of your wiring a 15 or 20 amp fuse would be the max.

If your house has breakers you should be able to add a breaker for the washer and get rid of the fuses.
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-12, 12:54 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums, Shannon.

This receptical appears to be directly wired to the breaker box as well????
What size is the breaker? Is it a single-pole or 2-pole breaker?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'