Finding source for dead junction box

Old 10-17-12, 01:17 PM
Finding source for dead junction box

First, I have very little experience with electricity.

I've come across a junction box set into the outide wall of my home, about 20' off the ground. The wires are currently connected to a very old ceramic socket (the home is a 95 year old cabin ... who knows how long ago this thing was set up!), and they apparently used to supply power to a single light bulb screwed to the outside of the house. At this point the multi meter isn't showing any voltage present in those wires, and there are no breakers turned off. There are no switches on the inside of the house near this location, and all outlets in the room nearest this location are working fine.

So effectively, I have a couple of dead wires sticking out from a hole in the upper corner of my home. It's not a bad place for me to mount a light fixture, but before I can do anything with them, I'd need to find where those wires lead, where/what they're tying into, and why they're not carrying any current. And I don't have a clue as to how to begin trying to determine that.

Anybody have any ideas? Or (as I suspect) am I stuck with a couple of dead wires sticking out from a hole in the wall of my house?

Many thanks! For any thoughts you folks might have!

John

Sponsored Links
Old 10-17-12, 01:23 PM
Welcome to the forums!

am I stuck with a couple of dead wires sticking out from a hole in the wall of my house?
Everything is fixable. The question is "How difficult or expensive will it be."

That said, what is behind that outlet box? Finished wall? Open attic? Is there a receptacle anywhere near there? Is there a dead switch anywhere in the house?

Old 10-17-12, 06:26 PM
Wow, Nashkat. You do good work. Two for two. I knew about both these conditions, but until you mentioned them, neither one had made it into my "field of vision" as perhaps being related.