Changing Main Panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-21-12, 06:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changing Main Panel

Hi, My sister has an old FP circuit breaker panel, 100 amp. I'd like to change it to a new square D panel. Question is, I don't want to have to take the meter off the house, Is there a way I can use the 100amp breaker thats already there (FP) and feed it into the Square D breaker and then just use the old panel box as a junction box for the circuits and feed them into the new panel or am I opening a can of worms?
Thanks, Joe
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-21-12, 07:45 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
That's not a good idea for several reasons. Unless you totally remove all old FPE breakers from the service you haven't totally eliminated the FPE hazard. Since there is a FPE service panel, the entire service is at best nearly 30 years old.....or could be much older......it all needs to be replaced including the meter socket and all service entrance wiring and the grounding brought up to todays code. You might check with the local electrical inspector for his opinion, but I doubt he would allow it. That is, assuming you were planning on getting a permit which you should.
 
  #3  
Old 10-21-12, 11:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The proper way to do this is get the electrical provider authority to come and remove the meter for you, which requires a permit. Removing the meter yourself is against the law in most places.

Mod Note: A DIY does not have the training or proper protective equipment to deal with a panel change with the power on.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 10-22-12 at 09:17 AM. Reason: remove unsafe advice
  #4  
Old 10-21-12, 12:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
I'm going to assume this is an overhead service. If you have room on both the outside and inside adjacent to the existing installation you could install all the new equipment and have the utility move the service drop to the new. From the new panel you could bootleg new conductors to the old main breaker and then move all the branch circuits to the new panel and then disconnect the old panel from the new. Many variations on exactly how to transfer the various branch circuits.
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-12, 04:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello again. Actually I was going to pull the meter off the house and replace the panel, HOWEVER, after all the good advice, I'm going to let it be done professionally. It's not worth it for me to do it myself. An outlet or appliance circuit, ok but not that. Again, Thank you all for the good advice, I'm going to follow it.
Have a great day.
Joe
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-12, 07:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Good call on your part. Thanks for letting us know your decision.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: