New [Smoke Detector] fire alarm installation

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-12, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
New [Smoke Detector] fire alarm installation

Hello all,

I am being required to update my fire alarms in my 1970's home. They need to be hardwired. I have found what wires are needed but lowes or home depot do not seem to know what size circuit breaker i need. I am having 9 in total installed. I recently upgraded my service entrance to a 200amp service so i have sufficient power for pretty much anything.

Thank you.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-01-12 at 08:04 PM. Reason: Clarify Title
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-12, 06:38 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
Fire alarms or did you mean smoke detectors? Residential fire alarms are a rarity and not required by any code I am aware of. Smoke detectors are required by building and fire codes.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-12, 06:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
[HR][/HR]yes sorry, smoke detectors.
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-12, 06:48 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
I'd use a single pole 15 amp breaker and interconnect the detectors with 14-3 NM B cable. I am just assuming that since you are hardwiring the detectors that they are also requiring the detectors to be interconnected, that is the latest code. They should also have battery backup.
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-12, 07:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
yes they have to be integrated. previous articles i have read, said to connect from breaker to first detector using 12-3 wire and to connect the rest together using 12-2 wire. is this also effective? versus the wire you suggested? That resolves the power issue, what wire would i use to connect them together?(communicating)
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-12, 09:35 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You run 12-2 from the breaker and 12-3 interconnecting. 14-2 and 14-3 is also sufficient.
 
  #7  
Old 11-02-12, 05:32 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
You run 12-2 from the breaker and 12-3 interconnecting. 14-2 and 14-3 is also sufficient.
Justin is right. I just recommend 14 awg and a 15 amp breaker because the load is very light. The black and white wires carry the power to all the detectors and the red wire interconnects the signals between the detectors.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'