transfer switch questions.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-12, 07:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 188
transfer switch questions.

I've been looking at a 10 circuit transfer switch, that is part of a kit, that also includes the remote plug, and cord for the generator. This kit is rated for a 7500 watt generator. It lists the max output at 120 volts, at 60 Amps. My question is, the cord is a 10 gauge cord. How is it safe to run 60 amps through it? Could I use a 60 amp NEMA plug, receptacle, and #4 copper? Thanks. John.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-12, 07:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,368
The generator supplies 30 amperes at 240 volts from a tapped winding. This translates to two, 30 ampere 120 volt feeds. 30 plus 30 equals 60. You cannot pull more than a 30 ampere maximum 120 volt load from either side.

No, you cannot change the cable or the plug and get any more power nor is it necessary to change the cable or plug to get the rated power.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-12, 09:40 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
10AWG conductors are the proper size for 30A, which is what you're drawing, max.
 
  #4  
Old 11-02-12, 05:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 188
Thanks guys...............
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'