Safety switch question

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-12, 05:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 19
Safety switch question

I just discovered a 30 amp fused safety switch in my basement that has 2 12 gauge circuits powered thru this switch. Am I correct in thinking this is unsafe, and would replacing the 30 amp fuse with a 20 amp make it safe

Jack
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-05-12, 05:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
What does the switch power? What size breaker supplies the switch? If it is only serving as a disconnect for a 20 amp feed it may be okay.
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-12, 05:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 19
The circuits are for overhead lighting and receptacles in an area that was used as a woodworking area by a prior tenant

The feed to the switch is 20 amp.

Jack
 

Last edited by jackpathome; 11-05-12 at 05:42 PM. Reason: Additional info
  #4  
Old 11-05-12, 05:40 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
And......how many amps is the breaker rated for that feeds this area?
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-12, 03:43 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You won't have a problem as long as the initial breaker is 20 amps. Unless you plan on eliminating the switch, leave the 30 amp fuse in there. Otherwise it will cause nuisance blow outs should the draw approach limits. You are fully protected at the panel. I would eliminate the fused switch to create less confusion and replace it with either a disconnect or, if the switch is not needed, a junction box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'