DC to AC without DC to AC Converter Device?


  #1  
Old 11-06-12, 10:54 AM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
DC to AC without DC to AC Converter Device?

Is there any way to switch DC power to AC without the use of an DC to AC device (like, in a worst case situation and you needed to power something with AC, and all you have is DC power with no DC to AC device)??
 
  #2  
Old 11-06-12, 11:25 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,531
Received 42 Votes on 38 Posts
No, AC and DC are two different configurations of energy and unfortunately it will require some type of conversion box. Depending upon what you want to power up, there are different boxes, but always a conversion box.

Bud
 
  #3  
Old 11-06-12, 12:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Back when car radios had vacuum tubes and need a high plate voltage it was done with a buzzer like device similar to what is used on a Model T spark coil but the voltage is very dirty and frequency unstable. Tell us what you are trying to do and maybe we can help.
 
  #4  
Old 11-06-12, 04:12 PM
W
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,185
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Ray,

I immediately thought of the same thing when I read the OP. For the life of me I cannot remember the name of the device but I remember they were packaged in a can not much larger than an electrolytic cap or a tube.
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-12, 06:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
For the life of me I cannot remember the name of the device but I remember they were packaged in a can not much larger than an electrolytic cap or a tube.
Nice to have company. Hmm maybe vibrator? ...Yep, just verified.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: