Ikea Desklamp Adapter broken - go straight to wall?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-12, 07:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 50
Ikea Desklamp Adapter broken - go straight to wall?

Hey guys,

Quick question to run by you - I have a pair of older Ikea desk lamps where the cord plugs into a separate wall-wart AC adapter. Both the adapters, from getting so hot, cracked and pretty much have fallen apart.

I was wondering if I could just splice a 2-prong or 3-prong plug to the end of the cord and bypass the AC adapter all together.

The specs of the adapter are:

INPUT: 120VAC, 60hz, 0.203A
OUTPUT: 12VAC 1670mA 20VA


I know most wall receptacles are 120vac/60hz/15-20amps

So would I be able to bypass the adapter and plug the lamp in directly to the wall? It's a small-bulb halogen lamp and has an on/off switch. I know for a fact there are other halogen lamps out there with bigger lamps that don't use AC adapters. Also, if I were able to do this, would I just splice a standard 2-prong plug in?

TIA!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-09-12, 07:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,213
NO.....YOU CAN NOT USE THOSE LIGHTS WITHOUT A/C ADAPTERS
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-12, 07:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 50
Thanks! So I guess I'll just look for another adapter with the same specs, and may end up having just to splice in?
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-12, 07:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,213
Yes......many around. Do a search. I've left you a link to a perfect adapter, very affordable and with screw terminals for connections.

MGT1220: MG ELECTRONICS: Power Supplies & Wall Adapters
 
  #5  
Old 11-09-12, 09:06 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Radio Shack should have a transformer with the same output specs, including polarity, which you didn't mention. They should also be able to fit the lead with a plug that will match the inlet on your lamp.
 
  #6  
Old 11-10-12, 09:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 994
What would possibly make you think you can just connect a 12-volt lamp to 120 volts??
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes