Replacing Murray 100 amp Main Breaker

Old 11-10-12, 09:13 AM
Replacing Murray 100 amp Main Breaker

After Hurricane Sandy, the POCO restored our electricity and damaged our breaker/panel. I checked with a multimeter and phase to phase reads 220V, so I know power is restored, however the house is still without electricity.

I am no electrician, but my guess is that the main breaker is bad. When the main breaker is "on" and I put the slightest pressure on the switch, it "jumps" to the off position. It feels (to me at least) much to easy to turn off. This seems like a problem in the breaker, but I'm not sure. Any thoughts on this?

The panel is a Murray LC120DS/DF and the main breaker is a Murray 100-amp 2 pole style MPX. I would like to replace the main breaker, but everywhere I look I only find "MP" style not "MPX". The instructions on the panel state to use an 'MP" breaker, but the breaker definitely says "MPX". Here is a guy with the same exact Panel and breaker:

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...t-breaker.html

The difference, from what I can see, is that the MPX has the lugs on the top, whereas the MP has the lugs on the bottom.

Does anyone have any experience with this panel? If I get the POCO to shut off the power, is it fairly simple to replace the main breaker? Does it just pull out and push in like a standard breaker?
I'm looking at this one from HomeDepot: 100 Amp 2 in. Double-Pole Circuit Breaker-MP2100P at The Home Depot

Thanks to all in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-10-12, 12:32 PM
Welcome to the forums!

The breaker you linked to is a plug-in breaker. I don't see any lugs on it.

Some pictures of your panel, including one far enough away to see the full installation, one of the label inside the door, and one of the interior with the deadfront removed, will help us focus our answers on your question. See How To Include Pictures.

Old 11-10-12, 05:40 PM
The panel is a Murray LC120DS/DF