2 lights and a switch, power to the lights and out again

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-12, 11:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 lights and a switch, power to the lights and out again

Can someone please check my understanding in diagram form of this circuit? The 2 lights are supposed to be controlled in unison by a single switch.

Name:  wire11.jpg
Views: 9587
Size:  25.9 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-12, 11:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,616
Received 514 Votes on 484 Posts
It's not terribly clear but yes, both lights should come on with one switch.
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-12, 12:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One final question, I hope. The 14-2 line I indicated as power out, can it be changed to 14-3 as I think in the future I may decide to enlarge the bathroom and it would be nice to have the flexibility to remove the 2nd light on that circuit and make it the first light on the bathroom circuit where again multiple lights would be operated by one switch. If I am allowed to do this I assume everything that is not used would have to be capped off as it was for the white wire on that switch in the diagram?
 

Last edited by chopper123; 11-12-12 at 12:56 PM.
  #4  
Old 11-12-12, 07:53 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The 14-2 line I indicated as power out, can it be changed to 14-3 as I think in the future I may decide to enlarge the bathroom and it would be nice to have the flexibility to remove the 2nd light on that circuit and make it the first light on the bathroom circuit where again multiple lights would be operated by one switch.
Are you asking about switched power?

You can extend anything you want. You should wait until you're doing the renovation before starting on the extended circuit, so that you don't have to mount a J-box just to hold the other end of the new cable
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-12, 08:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,616
Received 514 Votes on 484 Posts
The answer to your question is yes. Great idea running the 14-3 now with future expansion in mind. Simply wire nut off unused wire.
 
  #6  
Old 11-13-12, 11:02 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Simply wire nut off unused wire.
in the box you're starting from, where the 14-3 extension will be connected to power.

Still a good idea to feed the other end of this cable into an accessible, covered J-box and strip enough of the cable sheath to bond that box to ground (if it's metal) and to cap the hots and the neutral.
 
  #7  
Old 11-13-12, 05:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks again, I will pay it forward!
 
  #8  
Old 11-25-12, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have one circuit that I am wiring this way but want it to be a 3 way switch. Please help?
 
  #9  
Old 11-25-12, 03:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Easier to bring power to the switch especially if you want to comply with NEC 2011. Below is one way. If you want it with power to the light first you would need four conductor cable from the first switch to the second switch to comply with 2011*. If that is the way you want to go let me know and I'll tell you how.

Some interpretations of the code say neutral is only needed at one switch. In that case three conductors could be used between the switches.

 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-25-12 at 07:59 PM.
  #10  
Old 11-25-12, 06:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, please show me the 4 conductor cable way?
 
  #11  
Old 11-25-12, 07:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Give me a day or two if you want a diagram. I miss wrote it would be a three conductor from Light to switch one.

At the Light:
White of 2-conductor (power in) to white of 3-conductor (to switch 1) and white of light.
Black of 2-conductor (power in) to black of 3-conductor (to switch 1).
Black of light to red of 3-conductor.

At switch one you have 3-conductor from light and 4-conductor from switch 2*.
White of 3-conductor to white of 4-conductor.
Black of 3-conductor to common
Red of 3-conductor to red of 4-conductor
Blue and black of 4-conductor to traveler terminals.

At switch 2:
White capped off, not used.
Red to common.
Blue and black to traveler terminals.

Note some interpretations of NEC 2011 I have read say only one switch needs a neutral. The use of the 4-conductor cable assumes neutral at both switch. 3-conductor can be used if you don't need a neutral at both ends.
 
  #12  
Old 11-26-12, 04:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, please diagram it with 3 conductor cables only, thanks!
 
  #13  
Old 11-27-12, 01:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this how it would work for 2 times 14-3 wire?

At the Light:

White of 2-conductor (power in) to white of 3-conductor (to switch 1) and white of light.
Black of 2-conductor (power in) to black of 3-conductor (to switch 1).
Black of light to red of 3-conductor.

At switch one:

White (from light) 3-conductor capped off.
Blacks from light and switch 2 connected together plus a pigtail then to a silver screw.
Same as blacks for the reds.

***White on the travelers at/between switch 1 and 2. Would I then mark this wire with black tape on both ends?

At switch two:

Black and red (from switch 1) to silver screws.
White on traveler as prev. stated.


If this is correct no diagram is required!
 

Last edited by chopper123; 11-27-12 at 01:59 PM.
  #14  
Old 11-27-12, 02:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
At switch one:

White (from light) 3-conductor capped off.
Blacks from light and switch 2 connected together plus a pigtail then to a silver screw.
Same as blacks for the reds.
Black from light to switch common terminal.
White of 3-conductor between switches recolored blue and black of 3-conductor to the travelers.
Red of the 3-conductor between the switches to the red from the light.
There are no silver screws. Travelers are brass and common is dark gray.

At switch two:

Black and red (from switch 1) to silver screws.
White on traveler as prev. stated.
Blue (recolored white) and black to brass traveler terminals.
Red to dark gray common terminal.
No silver terminals.

You are correct at the light.
 
  #15  
Old 11-27-12, 02:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

If you can diagram this that would be the best.
 
  #16  
Old 11-27-12, 05:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Does this help? Ask about anything that isn't clear.

 
  #17  
Old 11-28-12, 03:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank's it's clear as day now!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: