Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

One switch operates 2 lights and a timer switch operates a fan in combo

One switch operates 2 lights and a timer switch operates a fan in combo

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-12, 12:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
One switch operates 2 lights and a timer switch operates a fan in combo

Can someone tell me if this meets code in some regions?

Name:  wire12.jpg
Views: 5367
Size:  31.6 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-12, 12:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Yes, that would meet code.
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-12, 12:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Thanks, this forum is the best thing since sliced bread!
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-12, 03:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
OK, what size Octagon box to meet code can I use for that first light with 8 wires not incl. grounds and pigtails?

One source say's max 7 wires for a 2.5" deep Octagon box! This wouldn't be a prob. if I just used 14-2 wire to the switch but that would also be a code violation.
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-12, 03:54 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I would use either a 1900 box or an 11-b with a fixture cover.
 
  #6  
Old 11-12-12, 05:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
Thanks a bunch and sorry for the confusion in that other thread!
 
  #7  
Old 11-13-12, 02:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: canadfa
Posts: 37
I was not able to find the boxes you mentioned but was able to get a 1.5" extension for an Octagon box. So is it ok to add that to a 2+1/8" box? Also, which box would be best to knock out to bring the wires into the extension or the original Octagon box?

So the extension is 1.5" and am I right in thinking that would mean 11 wires max for the new config since a 2+1/8" takes 7 14g max. and the 1.5" takes 4 14g max?
 

Last edited by chopper123; 11-13-12 at 02:55 PM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes