Running new circuits in outside conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-11-12, 06:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Running new circuits in outside conduit

I need some clarify on this,

So if I do run

2 blacks, 2 whites and 2 grounds (or 1 ground since that can be share) I can just have two completely seperate 15amps circuit without the dual poles 15 amp breaker setup ( or handled-tied)? I understand the colors of the wire may be confusing when do the wiring but that can be taken care of using differ color.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-11-12, 08:18 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
So if I do run

2 blacks, 2 whites and 2 grounds (or 1 ground since that can be share) I can just have two completely seperate 15amps circuit without the dual poles 15 amp breaker setup ( or handled-tied)?
Yep.

I'm curious about something, though. If I was going to do this much work I'd make the circuits 20A each. Is there a reason you're planning to install the lower-capacity circuits?

Wait. I just scrolled back to the beginning of this thread to look for an answer to that. I didn't find one, but I did find a reference to #12 wire, which is rated for 20A. So now I'm confused.

What size wire and what size breakers are you planning to install?
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-12, 02:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6
So let say, I do want two competely separate 20A circuits, it is do able with 2 x hot, 2 x neutrals and 2 (or 1) x ground? Let put aside the materials spec of this setup.
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-12, 03:23 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
So let say, I do want two competely separate 20A circuits, it is do able with 2 x hot, 2 x neutrals and 2 (or 1) x ground?
Five wires - you only need one ground.

Let put aside the materials spec of this setup.
Let's not. Since you specified 20A circuits, the wire must be 12AWG or larger. Since you're running in an exposed exterior conduit, it must be rated THWN.
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-12, 03:29 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
The two pole or handle tied breakers would only be needed if you only ran one neutral.
 
  #6  
Old 11-12-12, 03:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 218
I ran mine separately, and also with GFCI protection since they were outdoors.
 
  #7  
Old 11-12-12, 04:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
I ran mine separately, and also with GFCI protection since they were outdoors.
But that was not required or probably needed unless they went to a special purpose receptacle such as bath or kitchen and those can usually be more cheaply protected with a GFCI receptacle.
 
  #8  
Old 11-12-12, 04:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 218
agreed

around here anything running outdoors is GFCI protected
 
  #9  
Old 11-12-12, 04:36 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
So let say, I do want two competely separate 20A circuits, it is do able with 2 x hot, 2 x neutrals and 2 (or 1) x ground?
In case you missed it, the answer is Yes.

The two pole or handle tied breakers would only be needed if you only ran one neutral.
You are running two separate dedicated neutrals so you should be good to go. Only one ground is necessary.
 
  #10  
Old 11-13-12, 09:11 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
around here anything running outdoors is GFCI protected
Around here anything that can be plugged into outdoors is GFCI protected. That is also the code requirement. Circuits that begin and end inside the structure, but travel outside without interruption, do not require GFCI protection. As Ray said,
Originally Posted by ray2047
that was not required or probably needed unless they went to a special purpose receptacle such as bath or kitchen and those can usually be more cheaply protected with a GFCI receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'