Does an outdoor receptacle require GFCI?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-12, 05:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 120
Does an outdoor receptacle require GFCI?

I'm preparing to add a 220v/50a receptacle outside. This will require installing an appropriate 50a breaker in the main service panel. My question is -- Does NEC specify/require GFCI style for this circuit?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-12, 05:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
What will the receptacle power?

Tech Note: It is 240v volts not 220 volts if this is residential single phase.
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-12, 05:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 120
Yeah, that 220/240 gets interchanged so much I sometimes oops. The receptacle will power a 240v/48a stick welder (single-phase). Running UF-B 6/2.
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-12, 05:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
A 240 volt receptacle outside will not require GFI protection.
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-12, 07:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 120
Appreciate the replies!

That's what I was hoping to hear. Every $35 saved is a plus.
 
  #6  
Old 11-12-12, 08:18 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
A two pole GFI breaker would have been way more than $35.
 
  #7  
Old 11-12-12, 08:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 120
Ouch, you're spot on. A quick check shows a nearly $80 difference. That makes it even better news.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes