Locating Doorbell Transformer

Old 11-12-12, 08:48 PM
Question Locating Doorbell Transformer

Hello,

I am a do-it-yourselfer with no professional electrical experience. That being said, I do have experience with installing and wiring switches and light fixtures around the house - the easy stuff.

My current DIY challenge is trying to fix the doorbell on a 1965 house. There are two doorbell buttons on different parts of the exterior, both of which appear to be original. The wiring going to each of these buttons also looks original (old).

On the inside of the house there are two separate doorbell chime boxes, each of which is located relatively close to their respective exterior buttons. The wiring going to the chime boxes is "different", leading me to believe that it is not configured as a straight shot from the button to the chime - in other words, there is likely a transformer in the middle.

My issue has been in locating the transformer or transformers. First of all, I am not sure if these two doorbell button and chime pairs would share a single transformer, or if they each have their own transformer. I assume if there was a single transformer then it would be centrally located between the two doorbells. However, if we are dealing with two separate transformers then they should each be in the same vicinity as their respective doorbell hardware.

I have so far checked any obvious interior locations, I have checked the electrical panel outside, and I have checked through the attic of the house. When in the attic, I checked the beams and rafters for a mounted transformer but I did not yet start pulling up insulation. So far, no luck in finding the transformer(s). Any suggestions here would be much appreciated.