timer switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-12, 05:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 4
timer switch

I want to replace a standard single pole switch with a timer switch. The current single pole switch has a black wire and a white wire connected to it. The new timer switch has a black wire, white wire and a red wire. What do I do with the red wire ?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-12, 05:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,179
That new timer requires a dedicated neutral which you don't have.


Black - 120v hot
Red - switched 120 v
White - neutral


Do you only have the white and black wire in that switch box ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-12, 06:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 4
timer switch

No, there are three other switches in the same box. Can I splice the white into one of them ?
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-12, 06:27 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You don't have a neutral in the box. Verify that. If you have a bundle of white wires capped and stuffed in the back of the box, then you have access to a neutral. Doubtful that will happen. The white wires on the switches are technically "black" switch loops, so envision them as black, not white.
 
  #5  
Old 11-16-12, 06:37 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
there are three other switches in the same box. Can I splice the white into one of them?
As PJ max explained, the wires on your timer switch need to be connected as:
Black - 120v hot
Red - switched 120 v
White - neutral
No, you cannot connect the white wire to any wire on any other switch. How are the other three switches wired?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes