Splicing 3 wires

Old 11-17-12, 03:25 PM
Splicing 3 wires

Hello, I'm having problems splicing 3 wires together. In the picture below I made a splice for a wire to feed a receptacle, middle of run. The small piece of wire I spliced in rotates/spins on the splice itself. I can rotate it one way and the splice loosens, if I rotate the other way it tightens. I'm assuming this isn't correct... How can I avoid this? What did I do wrong? I may end up skipping the splicing and just feeding through the receptacles...

I've spliced two wires before with no issues, but 3 seems to be an issue.

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 11-17-12, 04:00 PM
It's not necessary to twist the wires together. Line them up straight and flush at the ends, 3/8" stripped and insert them into the wirenut.

Old 11-17-12, 04:06 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Or better, yet, push connectors.

Old 11-17-12, 04:24 PM
Toolman is correct

Hi, I am a retired Electrician. I can tell you the toolman's reply is totally correct. Twisting them together only complicates the ability of a scotchlok to work. Just strip the wires about 1/2 to 5/8" long and put them together side by side so that the ends are all even and put on either a yellow or red (depending on the gauge size of the wire) scotchlok and then if you don't feel comfortable you can still tape wrap them but tape in the same direction that you screwed the scotchlok on.

Old 11-17-12, 10:13 PM
The reason the individual wires in your splice can be spun in and out of it is two-fold. 1> You made the spiral too precisely and 2> you stopped twisting, for some reason, when you got to the insulation - a proper splice will twits the wires together well back into the insulated area.