Add light to switch controlling outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-19-12, 01:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Add light to switch controlling outlets

Our main bedroom has a light switch controlling two outlets, but no overhead light. I'm considering adding an overhead light to the switch, but wondering how complex it would be to have the switch run the light in addition to the outlets. Can anyone give me some direction about how feasible this is and/or direct me to a DIY guide for something like this? Thanks!

-- Chris

(King County, WA)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-19-12, 03:21 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,064
It is doable but how and how easy depends on if power comes to the receptacle or the switch first and if you have accessible space above or below to easily fish wires from.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-12, 06:08 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
If you tell use the wire colors and number at the switch box we can help figure this out. Your wiring also need to contain a grounding means.

If you do not have access above or below you will have some drywall patching to do from running the new cables.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes