garage Sub panel installation

Old 11-24-12, 11:06 AM
garage Sub panel installation

hello,

i know there is alot of information already around this forum on sub panel installations however, i cannot find clearly what i am looking for. i am no electrician but understand some basics.

So my garage is detached about 30 feet behind my home. it is a straight shot from my main panel to where i plan putting my sub panel 30-40 feet away. My main service line is 100 amp.

so one of my many questions is... what is the largest size subpanel can i install in my garage if i only have a 100 amp service line?

thanks for the help

Sponsored Links
Old 11-24-12, 11:40 AM
Group Moderator
Note the subpanel can be larger then the feed. Most garages need a 60 amp or less feed but may need a 100 amp subpanel just to have spaces for all the breakers needed.

Edit: This post should be read after PCBoss' but do to a Currilian time warp it posted ahead of his.

Old 11-24-12, 11:44 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
You could install up to a 100 amp subpanel.

You need to supply some information about the tools and usage of the garage so a feeder can be sized. Depending on the usages and loads you may need to upgrade your house service.

Old 11-24-12, 11:54 AM
i was hoping i didnt have to upgrade my main service panel but i plan on putting a washer, gas dryer, and as far as tools go...i plan to operate the basic 120v power tools, saws, drills, grinders, air compressor..of course not all at the same time. but i would like the option to install a 240v air compressor in the future.

if i can get a 100amp subpanel back there would i need to install a 100amp breaker at my main panel for the subpanel? and then another main breaker at my subpanel?

thanks

Old 11-24-12, 12:01 PM
Group Moderator
[Duplicate to try to trick the time warp]