Conduit for Power Inlet Box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-25-12, 11:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 403
Conduit for Power Inlet Box?

Hi,

I have a generator (30 amp) that I've run power cords from, time to get a transfer switch (on order). I have a power inlet box that I want to mount on the face of my brick home - goes through concrete blocks into my basement. I'll have an electrician wire my transfer switch to the main panel but to save some time, I'd like to mount and wire the inlet box so it is ready for the electrician (10 gauge). My question is - does the wire need to pass through a conduit or can the 10 gauge pass through the house without conduit? If I need conduit I'll probably need something like 3/4"...

Thanks,
Bob
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-25-12, 12:01 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
You can either use a cable (NM-B, UF, AC, MC, Etc) or conduit and wire. You can not run individual wires without conduit. 1/2" conduit is fine with 3-4 #10 wires in most conduit wiring methods (LNMC is the exception) but you can run a larger pipe if you wish. If you use EMT, a ground is not required as long as the run is continuous. With non-metallic conduits, and flexible metal conduit, a ground is required.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 11-25-12 at 08:27 PM.
  #3  
Old 11-25-12, 07:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 403
Thanks for the reply - makes sense!
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-12, 01:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 403
Follow-up - so if I have conduit running through the wall of the house, is conduit required for the #10 from the interior wall to the transfer switch?
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-12, 06:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Conduit systems need to be continuous between boxes.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes