Wiring with push on connectors

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-25-12, 09:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Wiring with push on connectors

I put two T12 4 footer tube fluorescent fixtures up and was about to use some Wago Wall Nuts push in connectors. Box says they're good for 12 - 16 AWG stranded and 12- 18 AWG solid wires. The solid wires go right in and stay in. The stranded come right back out.

Any one use these, or any tricks to gettin it to work?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-25-12, 09:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,484
I was never a big fan of those push in block connectors.

Maybe your stranded wiring is smaller then it calls for ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-12, 03:18 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Push block connectors are great for solid wire, but less than stellar for stranded. I would opt for Bcaps for the stranded wire, or if you have a combination of stranded and solid, Bcaps all the way.
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-12, 07:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
You can still buy T12 fixtures?
 
  #5  
Old 11-26-12, 08:18 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I found them to work better if you tin the conductors first. I'm also going to recommend using wirenuts for the heavier loads, like receptacles.
 
  #6  
Old 11-26-12, 04:58 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Guy, yeah, I had to buy 8 of them in 8' lengths for an auto parts warehouse. Old geezer didn't like the newer fluorescents. Customer is always right......well he got what he wanted, but may realize there is greener grass.
 
  #7  
Old 11-26-12, 08:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,484
Just about the time that guy will need replacement tubes for his dinosaur fixtures.....the tubes will also be extinct. 8' T-12's are already out of production.
 
  #8  
Old 11-27-12, 03:10 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I told him that......He just doesn't trust newer technology. I explained I could get brighter light for his shelving with 4' T5's than he would get with the 8' T12's, but Noooo. That's OK, when he sells the business I'll have another job when the new owner looks at things.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'