Modifying a case to include power outlets inside

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-28-12, 04:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Modifying a case to include power outlets inside

I hope this is the right place to post this question.

I have a flight case for some DJ decks that I would like to modify to have an IEC chassis socket on the side, which will then provide power to 3 devices that normally have mains plugs.

What components do I need to achieve this?

Fused Snap-In IEC Chassis Plug with Switch : UK and European Mains Power Connectors : Maplin Electronics

I found the above which would be ideal to have on the back of the case. How do I then go about supplying 3 cables from that? Would I need a junction box inside? I am quite limited for space.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 11-28-12 at 05:18 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-28-12, 07:56 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
If you install the IEC chassis jacks on your DJ case....how will you connect your other 3 devices that still have mains plugs on them ?
You would have to make up IEC female to IEC female power cords.

I rent and operate pro sound systems. I use a 4" square electrical box with a double receptacle plate and 25' of 12-3 SJ cord. I even have a pilot lamp to verify power quickly. I have like six to eight of these boxes. I have to watch them as everyone wants one of their own.
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-12, 02:20 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,645
Would it not be more simple and safer to purchase a decent quality approved
power bar and attach it to the case.
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-12, 04:27 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I rent and operate pro sound systems. I use a 4" square electrical box with a double receptacle plate and 25' of 12-3 SJ cord. I even have a pilot lamp to verify power quickly. I have like six to eight of these boxes. I have to watch them as everyone wants one of their own.
I don't think you're allowed to use handy boxes because they don't have a threaded hub.
 
  #5  
Old 11-28-12, 08:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
I use 4" square (1900 type) boxes and Kellem type grips. Very expensive ! The internal locknuts are tack welded to the boxes. I don't fool around.
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 11-28-12, 08:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
Danlewy.....if you want to do what I think you want to do.....there is nothing "out of the box" for it. You have a DJ coffin and want one connecting plug to the mains instead of three.

Here's what I did. I'm assuming your gear has the IEC chassis jacks mounted to the back. Most mixers and CD players are like that.

I buy those cables by the case. I took three cables and cut the mains plug off leaving the female IEC plug attached. I then took another power cord and cut off the IEC female end leaving the mains plug attached. I took a small aluminum diecast junction box and installed four grommets. I brought all four cables into that box and spliced them together. The grounds are connected to the junction box.

This is a very specific modification for a very specific need. I have two coffins setup like this.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 11-30-12, 07:02 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I use 4" square (1900 type) boxes and Kellem type grips. Very expensive ! The internal locknuts are tack welded to the boxes. I don't fool around.
Now we're talking. I was thinking some homebrew contraption using a two-screw clamp barely hanging in there. Sorry for doubting you.
 
  #8  
Old 11-30-12, 07:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
No problem....I know when I hear 1900 j box quads it's like.....
 
  #9  
Old 12-01-12, 06:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,941
The OP is located in the UK, so all the recommendations on parts to use need to be adapted to what is available in the UK.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'