additional outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-29-01, 05:08 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I want to add an outlet in a room. Can I tap of an existing outlet's wiring for the new one. The one I want to "tap" off of has black and white wires connected..no red.. Please advise the wiring instructions if this can be done.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-29-01, 06:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, it's easy. Just run a 12/2 or 14/2 (match existing wire size) from this outlet to the new outlet. If the old outlet has all the wires connected to the outlet itself (i.e., no wires connected only to each other in the back of the box), then just connect everything by wire color, and connect black to brass screw and white to silver screw at new outlet. Buy an $8 outlet tester at Home Depot to check it when you're done.

I still suggest you get a home wiring book at the library so you'll be aware of a number of miscellaneous details.
 
  #3  
Old 01-29-01, 06:21 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks john. another question. the existing box does not have a red wire. what do i do with the red wire for the new box, just cap it off?
 
  #4  
Old 01-30-01, 01:14 PM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile

As John said, use 12/2 or 14/2. This wire doesn't have a "red". It has a black , a white and a bare (or sometimes green).

If you already ran a cable with a red wire (that would be 12/3 or 14/3), yes just cap it off at both ends.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: