Wiring Questions

Old 11-25-12, 06:43 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring Questions

Hello my first time here.

I just move into a new house and I was shock on what I saw with the wiring through out the house. While I am not an electrician, I do know a little about wiring since I was in the AC/heating business. But it's been a while since I did some wring and I am sure many of the codes have change over the years. I appreciate any tips and help.

The house is wired with old and new BX cables. Many of the 14/2 were mix with 12/2 wiring. I also notice that many of the 12/2 wiring were on 15 amp breakers. I removed most of old BX cables and replace them with romex 12/2 and replace the breakers with 20 amp. The 14/2 wiring is on 15 amp breakers.

Please tell me if I did this correctly, a dedicated line to the sump pump, Stove(with range hood), Refrigerator (12/2 20a), Gas furnace (14/2 15a), Washing machine(12/2 20a) and Dryer (10/3 DP 30a).

I'm going to run a dedicated 12/2 GFCI line to the bath room. There is already a ceiling fan light with a switch, but no outlets. I though running another line to the bathroom would be the best thing to do.

I am also a firm believer running lights and receptacles on their own separate lines. However, will it be okay to run one 100w light off a 12/2 line with 3 receptacles in the room? This is a small computer room with a wireless router, all in one printer and cable modem.

BTW is it okay to use 15a receptacles on a 20a line? Someone told me I should be using 20a receptacles. I already replace all the old outlets with 15a receptacles on the 20a lines.

I have more questions later, but I would like to finish the downstairs first. Thanks.

Old 11-25-12, 06:53 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,949 Upvotes on 3,542 Posts
Welcome to the forum