Rough in Hot tub and Range wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-12, 06:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Rough in Hot tub and Range wiring

I am about to dry wall a portion of my basement, this area includes the electrical panel. Down the road I may want to add a sub panel (about 20' from the existing main panel) which would feed only a hot tub and a range. Can anyone tell me the guage of wire I need to feed that sub panel...'so I can riough it in'. I will not do the actual hook up myself I would have an electrician do that.
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-01-12, 06:36 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Welcome to the forums!

I may want to add a sub panel (about 20' from the existing main panel) which would feed only a hot tub and a range. Can anyone tell me the guage of wire I need to feed that sub panel...'so I can riough it in'.
Yes, but you will first have to tell us the load on the subpanel. "A hot tub and a range" can vary widely in size.

Does a 100A subpanel sound about right?
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-12, 09:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
It would be better to keep heavy loads like that in the main panel.

You could just rough in a conduit and pull the wires later once you know your needs.

You may want to do a demand load calculation to see if your service is large enough.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: