Rough in Hot tub and Range wiring


  #1  
Old 12-01-12, 06:30 PM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Rough in Hot tub and Range wiring

I am about to dry wall a portion of my basement, this area includes the electrical panel. Down the road I may want to add a sub panel (about 20' from the existing main panel) which would feed only a hot tub and a range. Can anyone tell me the guage of wire I need to feed that sub panel...'so I can riough it in'. I will not do the actual hook up myself I would have an electrician do that.
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-01-12, 06:36 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7,458
Upvotes: 0
Received 6 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I may want to add a sub panel (about 20' from the existing main panel) which would feed only a hot tub and a range. Can anyone tell me the guage of wire I need to feed that sub panel...'so I can riough it in'.
Yes, but you will first have to tell us the load on the subpanel. "A hot tub and a range" can vary widely in size.

Does a 100A subpanel sound about right?
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-12, 09:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
It would be better to keep heavy loads like that in the main panel.

You could just rough in a conduit and pull the wires later once you know your needs.

You may want to do a demand load calculation to see if your service is large enough.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: