277V From a residential feed

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-12, 02:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Question 277V From a residential feed

Hello I have a residential feed that I would like to get 277V from to power 21 lights, I hear you can get Industrial control transformers that would do the switch but in fact I would be wiring them backwards. I also am wondering do I need one for each light or can I just wire one into the main feed for all the lights? or one for each few lights? Asking from BC Canada.
 

Last edited by DJ-Rogue; 12-05-12 at 02:01 PM. Reason: speeeling
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-12, 02:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,671
Use a buck boost transformer on a 240 volt feed. The number of lights per transformer would depend on the transformer rating.

Note if these are fluorescent fixtures the may be adjustable to lower voltage.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-12, 02:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Question 277V from residential feed - cont'd

Use a buck boost transformer on a 240 volt feed. The number of lights per transformer would depend on the transformer rating.

Note if these are fluorescent fixtures the may be adjustable to lower voltage.

Ok so just bring a stove feed to the boost transformer and boost it 15% to 276V, to change the voltage, I need to change the ballasts @ $15.00 / light so I am seeing if it would be more cost effective to do that or to buy the boost transformer. I'd also like to know if it would be better for the lights, to run it with the boost transformer, or with different ballasts.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-12, 03:52 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,987
What kind of lights are these? Most newer type T8 florescent lights are 120-277 volt ballasts and will run on anything in between. Most HID lights I have used will multiple taps for 120, 208,240 and 277 volts.

If you're looking for a transformer, check eBay. I have sold many on there in the past.
 
  #5  
Old 12-05-12, 04:03 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,671
Ok so just bring a stove feed to the boost transformer
Probably not. You need a 240 volt feed not a 120/240 and you probably need only 20 amps.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'