50 amp sub panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-17-12, 05:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West
Posts: 261
50 amp sub panel

can i get a 50 amp breaker for my 200 amp panel so i can run wire out to a 60 amp subpanel?
who makes a 60 amp sub panel anyway?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-17-12, 06:01 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
can i get a 50 amp breaker for my 200 amp panel so i can run wire out to a 60 amp subpanel?
You probably can if the panel isn't terribly old, who is the manufacturer of your 200 amp panel? Do you have a catalog number?

who makes a 60 amp sub panel anyway?
You'll probably want to purchase something in the 70 to 100 amp range and feed it with the 50 amp breaker. You can get them from Square D, Cutler-Hammer, Siemens, GE, just about any company who manufactures loadcenters.
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-12, 06:02 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
What brand panel do you have?

You can feed a 100 amp panel with a smaller breaker.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'