2 Circuits 1 Gang box, want to wire light

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-28-12, 09:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1
2 Circuits 1 Gang box, want to wire light

Hey guys - i just moved into a new house. its actually an older house with new wiring. In the basement there is one gang box that looks to have two circuits running into it. I wanted to put a simple light with a grounded plug (the $4 porcelain ones) there so i can light up one area of the basement. This looks to be the only box in the basement that has a double wire if you will. Can i simply tap into one set of these or one circuit and leave the other empty? only problem i see is where would i stuff the other wires in the box? Any help is appreciated Pictures are below.




Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-28-12, 09:43 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
Wrong box for a ceiling fixture. Mud ring might work.
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-12, 04:08 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

Can i simply tap into one set of these or one circuit and leave the other empty? only problem i see is where would i stuff the other wires in the box?
Sure. If your question is about how you would make another cable secure in that box, and there is already a cable in each of the eight entry slots it should have, then the answer may be that you can't do that.

What you can do in that case is remove one of the existing cables and insert it in a new box, then run a new piece of cable from there to the existing box and tie it in the same way the one you removed was tied in. You might be able to kill two birds with one stone by making the new box a ceiling fixture box and mounting your light fixture there.

In the existing box, you need to clean up the splice where the three black wires are protected by a yellow wire nut, so that no bare conductor is showing there, and by twisting all of the grounds together to make a proper splice/bond.
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-12, 05:46 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
I hope that box isn't indicative of the rest of the new wiring in your home.
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-12, 06:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,468
The grounds certainly look interesting.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'