GFCI Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-12, 06:03 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Usa
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI Outlet

I have a gfci outlet I installed to replace one that was not working. I wired it up correctly. Left the yellow sticker in place. Used a GFCI outlet tester and got three unlit indicators, meaning an open hot. There is power to the outlet. I used a voltage tester to check that the line was hot. Can't figure out why the outlet is not working and why there is an open ground. Any ideas would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-12, 06:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,043
Received 835 Votes on 782 Posts
So if the GFI outlet has power then you should be able to push the TEST button and it should trip.
You then need to push the RESET button.

Sometimes the GFI's come tripped out of the box. Did you try resetting yours ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-12, 07:21 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Usa
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did push the reset button and the outlet would not reset. Could there be a problem with the breaker?
 
  #4  
Old 12-30-12, 07:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No, no reason to suspect the breaker if you have power. More likely you bought a bad breaker. Buy a different brand in case it was from a bad lot.

I used a voltage tester to check that the line was hot.
Of course if you mean a non contact tester your results mean nothing and it may not be hot.

I know you wrote it was new but that means very little. It could be somebody bought a new one to replace a bad one then returned the bad one in the packaging of the new one or just a screw up at the factory.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-12, 07:29 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,114
Received 69 Votes on 59 Posts
Rarely do breakers go bad. Can you check your connections again? Sometimes the wires are just touching the clamps instead of being under the clamp.
 
  #6  
Old 12-31-12, 05:03 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,552
Received 66 Votes on 57 Posts
Used a GFCI outlet tester and got three unlit indicators, meaning an open hot
Can't figure out why the outlet is not working and why there is an open ground
You need to stop trying to troubleshoot your problem with an outlet tester. You need either an analog meter or a good digital multi meter to check the power feeding the GFI receptacle.
 
  #7  
Old 12-31-12, 10:07 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Used a GFCI outlet tester and got three unlit indicators, meaning an open hot. There is power to the outlet. I used a voltage tester to check that the line was hot. Can't figure out why the outlet is not working and why there is an open ground.
So you don't have an open hot and you do have an open ground?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: