Main Breaker panel grounding question

Old 01-01-13, 09:26 AM
Main Breaker panel grounding question

Hello:

I am new to the group. I would like to add a ground wire to my breaker panel. The panel is a GE TM1615S dating from the 1970's and I don't see where the panel is grounded at all. Also the neutrals and ground share the same buss. The lug for the ground is empty. Also the meter is encased in brick so I can't see if it is grounded. The system is copper.

The reason I want a ground is that I am a ham radio operator and I need to tie all of the house grounds and my station ground together using a ground circle around the house connected to a single point ground.

It seems that I could run a ground wire from the ground lug in the panel to a 8 foot ground rod outside and tie that to my ground system.

I am going to attempt to attach pictures of my panel.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks.

Name:  GE TM1615S panel.jpg
Views: 16010
Size:  49.7 KBName:  GE TM1615S (2) panel.jpg
Views: 13198
Size:  51.4 KBName:  GE TM1615S (3) panel.jpg
Views: 13288
Size:  51.3 KBName:  GE TM1615S (4) panel.jpg
Views: 8110
Size:  39.8 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 01-01-13, 11:50 AM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums!

Your panel is grounded by the grounded conductor (neutral).

I can not see a bonding strap, but many panels just use a screw that connects the neutral bar and the metal can of the panel. You can test this with a meter by checking continuity between the neutral buss and and the metal can itself. You will likely get close to zero ohms.

If you want, you can still add a ground rod outside. Run some #6 copper wire from the neutral buss to the ground rod.

Since your doing that, you might as well and bond your electric service to your water service. This is also required for installations today. If your service is 200 amp, you will need #4 copper for that.

Old 01-01-13, 11:54 AM
I cant tell from pic but is it bonded?

Old 01-01-13, 12:39 PM
Forum Topic Moderator