Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

I want to change a 3 way switch to a switch and single outlet combo...

I want to change a 3 way switch to a switch and single outlet combo...

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-01-13, 04:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Smile I want to change a 3 way switch to a switch and single outlet combo...

Hi,

I hope someone can provide a little little help here. I have a laundry room with an overhead light that is controlled by a 3 way switch at each end. There is only one set of the following wires in each box...Each switch has ground, white, black and red wires. I want to know if I can swap out one of the switches to a switch outlet combo.

Thanks,
Larry
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-01-13, 05:03 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
Short answer is NO. Long answer is NOOOOOOOOOO.

There are several ways to wire a 3-way switch circuit and one of them is to run the power to the ceiling box where the light is located and then run a 3-wire cable to each switch box, that is evidently what you have. You would need both a constant hot wire and a neutral wire to have a receptacle there; you have neither.
 
  #3  
Old 01-02-13, 07:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
The lowest-work option would probably be to switch to a radio-operated 3-way switch and to reassign the conductors between the fixture and the switch box so that you have a hot and neutral instead of travelers.

If you're handy and experienced with electrical, this is not a tough project. But if you're not sure what the wires actually do, hire a pro, or get some more education before digging into this yourself.

Based on your description, the first link shows how your circuit is wired now. The second link shows a radio controlled switch, though there are others.

How To Install a 3-way Switch Option #4 :: Home Improvement Web

Leviton 6696-W Wireless 3-Way Decora-Style Switch Kit, White - Smarthome
 
  #4  
Old 01-02-13, 05:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Thanks Casual Joe, you confirmed my thoughts. In the basement located right below the laundry room, I have an electrical outlet and that is the only outlet on that line back to the breaker box. I will come up thru the floor into the wall and just add a new outlet in the room. Thanks again.

Larry
 
  #5  
Old 01-02-13, 05:29 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
In the basement located right below the laundry room, I have an electrical outlet and that is the only outlet on that line back to the breaker box. I will come up thru the floor into the wall and just add a new outlet in the room.
That may be the best and safest solution - we don't know what loads you're planning to plug into the new receptacle.

But I'm curious: Don't you already have a 120V receptacle that the washing machine is plugged into, and that you could extend from?
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-13, 03:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Yes there is, but it is a single outlet for the washer only and it is on the other side of the room. Good thought...thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'