Portable Generator and Circuit breaker box...

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-10-13, 07:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Portable Generator and Circuit breaker box...

Hope I have the right section here. If this question has been previously posted and answered, please point me in the right direction.
We bought a portable generator, Generac 8000W. We are renters. We cannot install a manual transfer switch.
However, we want to be able to connect the oil boiler and water through the circuit breaker box in case the power goes out. Our neighbor showed us how to remove the circuit breaker from the box, disconnect the wires, and attach an extension cord end, enabling us to plug it in to the generator.
Now I realize this is not ideal, but in the dead of winter, it means heat and water, and no burst water pipes.
So, my question is this: What cord end do I need? I recently bought a 9ft 14 ga. 15 amp 125V medium duty tool replacement cord end (Husky brand) from Home Depot. Will this do it? I can't quite remember exactly which wires to what, and I realize it has to be grounded...(and plan to consult the neighbor again if necessary)
We plan to run extension cords for everything else direct from generator, (which we acquired already) but these two things we cannot.
If this is a very bad idea, please let me know and explain why. I know about shutting off the main power for safety reasons, which we did last power outage. (a friend lent us a 2000W Honda generator at the time)
We hope we don't ever have to do this while renting, but we don't wish to be stuck either.
Thanks for you help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-13, 08:24 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
What size and how many poles is the breaker feeding the boiler and water pump?
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-13, 08:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
Can you talk to your landlord about splitting the cost of getting a transfer switch installed? What you are doing will work and I'd do it if I was in a really bad spot but I wouldn't use it as my go-to plan.
 
  #4  
Old 01-10-13, 09:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 145
A Cost effective Way

What I would recommend is a interlock kit ($50-$100), Inlet Box ($55), Generator cord (30 amp) $125 and the cost of a qualified electrician. This way you need no more extension cords. Do not back feed the panel. The kit allows you to power up the inlet box and the main has to be shut off. It is UL Listed. Make sure you use the kit for your box. If you go to Lowes.com and look @ the square D Interlock Kit you will see pictures that I have posted of both. I have a 5500 watt / 8250 surge generator and it powers the whole house without any problems. A 8000 watt is pretty large and may be needed in your case, but this is the safest and most effecient way to do this. Backfeeding the panel is dangerous and illegal without a safety UL Listed device. A transfer switch is also a great idea. If you only have a few circuits, then that may be the answer. I like the kit because during the day you can shut the lights off and run the washer and dryer. At night when all the laundry is done you can turn everything on. You do not have to pick and choose your circuits and are not limited.

How many circuits do you have and have are you looking to power up. Look @ all the amp ratings on all your home essentials. Refrigerator, etc. Multiply Amps * 120 and you have your wattage. The 30 amp inlet box allows for my situation 45.8 amps and 5500 watts continuous, more than enough for me. I will be prepared for the next storm. Keep us posted.
 
  #5  
Old 01-10-13, 09:32 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
A cord end must be attached to a cord to be safe and effective, not to individual conductors. Why can't you install a transfer switch?
 
  #6  
Old 01-11-13, 06:22 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
The OP is a renter, and has no authority to make changes to a building they do not own.

To OP, there are single circuit transfers with an inlet that allow the use of a cord to power the boiler in the event of a power outage.

Look at the 6375 or 6377.

Generac Power Systems - Portable Power - Manual Transfer Switches
 
  #7  
Old 01-11-13, 07:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Well, I wrote out a reply, and when I went to post it, the system had logged me out, and I lost it. Does it go somewhere I can retrieve it, or do I have to start over again? Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 01-11-13, 11:55 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I think you'll need to type it again.
 
  #9  
Old 01-11-13, 07:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,405
I wrote out a reply, and when I went to post it, the system had logged me out
That has also happened to me more than a few times.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes