Switching which outlet responds to a certain light switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-12-13, 11:02 AM
Peter Lim's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Switching which outlet responds to a certain light switch

Currently, the light switch in our bedroom controls an outlet on the wall. There are 4 outlets total in the room, I was wondering if it was possible to switch which outlet responds to the light switch.

I did some research and most say it's an expensive job for electricians, because they have to run new wiring through the drywall etc... but I found a glimmer of hope when I read that it may be possible to do if the wiring was configured correctly (using 12/3 wiring?)

Question: Is this really possible? If so, what should my setup look like?

I've opened up my outlets and switch to see what type of wiring is being used. Here's what I've found:

Switch: 12/3
Outlet controlled by switch: 12/3
Other 3 outlets: 12/2

Any tips/suggestions welcome, thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-12-13, 11:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,460
You would need to see 12/3 at all the outlets in able to change them from live to switched.
You would need to rewire your receptacles.
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-13, 12:15 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
That doesn't sound like enough wires for what you have now. How many cables of each type do you have in each box.

The likelihood is, though, that you might be able to make all of your receptacles switched, or flip things so that the ones that are constant hot now are switched and the one that is switched now is always on, without rewiring. Would either of those outcomes work for you?

Different question: Do you have access to the tops and bottoms of your bedroom walls from an attic, basement or crawl space?

Free tip: I'm an electrician, and we resolve problems like in our house that by installing remote switches, not by rewiring.
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-13, 10:56 AM
Peter Lim's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Thanks for the replies, that's what I thought. I'll be looking into the wireless solution.
 
  #5  
Old 01-13-13, 11:46 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,644
Something like this may be what you need. Basic Wireless Light Switch Kit - White
 
  #6  
Old 01-13-13, 02:43 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
This is the one we use: X-10 Remote Light Switch System.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'